Encounter Murphy’s Laws in Person

Posted on November 13, 2010

0



The other day I was talking with a friend about the weather and health stuff. He told me he was freezing to death, but SZ is still warm like late Spring time and I actually started to worry about it. The weather stays the same all year round, little changes will occur when time goes by, and our body will fail to regenerate as effectively as how it works under fluctuating weather conditions. The body gets lazier, and the mechanism will refuse to respond promptly under unnoticed changing circumstances. That’s how the boiling frog story goes. People die for their inability to react to significant changes that occur gradually.

We get less motivated if our life is always in a comfortable upturn. That gives us the reason to be prepared for danger in times of safety. I’ve been reading Murphy’s Laws recently and his theories indeed lighten people up. Here are some quotations from Murphy that come with my own expriences as evidences:

1. Left to themselves, things tend go from bad to worse. This is a fresh personal experience, first hand for sure. I thought I would never catch a cold under such pleasant weather conditions, but when people in the office got to sneeze and their noses to run, I started to worry: something is happening and the flu is here. But since cold is never my guest, I let the worry go very soon. But the next day, I began to sneeze as well and the throat was burning like fire. I could smell blood when I cough. Let it be, and let my body work its best, I decided. Then I started to feel a stuffy nose, to hear voices, seemingly to carry a head that’s doubled its usual size and weight. Finally a fever got me down, and I realized that seeing a doctor is gonna be the best and the only choice. The doctor prescribed some cephalothin for IV drops and some aspirin oral. Guess what? I can beat a tiger down now! If nothing has been done, it won’t get any better, instead it will only deteriorate. Murphy has another well-known theory: if anything can go wrong, it will, which is based on the condition that nothing is being done, of course.

2. If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked something. I am a very prudent worker, in this regard, work only. Somehow I believe in what one of my favorite teacher told me. She encounraged me that I could do anyting well as long as I would keep up the positive and meticulous attitude. Therefore I have been racking my brains to find out what I can do for the company, and as a return, I win my boss’s heart. But a week later, my mother texted me: what’s going on? I haven’t heard from you for a whole week; at the same time, my honey was feeling very unhappy about our relationship as well and I could almost feel the indifference and tension that might break into a war soon. Then I realized that what I neglected was my responsiblities as a son and a boyfriend.

3. You cannot successfully determine beforehand which side of the bread to butter. I think Robert Frost had the same problem in mind when he wrote “The Road Not Taken“. We all have too many such moments in life. Choice is the hardest thing in this world to make, when you are at the diverge, especially when you have no idea what’s coming ahead. I am not gonna give any instances here, as there are just too many out there. But here is what I want you to know: Robert Frost never regreted having taken the road less travelled by. Either road is as just as fair. All it matters is how you are gonna travel.

Posted in: Philosophy